AT&T and Unlimited Data

Well, as I am sure many of you have heard, AT&T has taken the step that all phone companies have been wanting to do for some time: removal of the unlimited 3G data plans. As usual, there is so much misinformation going around and people don’t bother to double-check your facts, so here is the most important point:

If you are a current iPhone user with the unlimited plan, you will not be forced into the new plans, even if you start a new 2-year contract.

As far as the tiered pricing goes ($15 for 250MB, $25 for 2GB), there are actually some plusses to it. Frankly, I could easily downgrade to the 2GB plan (my average monthly usage is about 800MB on the iPhone), but I’ll probably stick with the unlimited for the $5 difference. Also, this allows people who wanted an iPhone but didn’t want to pay $30 a month to reconsider. When I told my dad that he could get the the $15 plan, he immediately said he would be willing to get the iPhone. He’s just waiting for me to get the iPhone 4.0 so he can take my 3GS 🙂

What I do think is asinine is the new tethering option. You pay an additional $20 and you get no extra bandwidth?!? If AT&T had just made it so you get 5 additional GB with the tethering (so $45 per month for 7GB and the ability to tether), I think that would have made it an awesome deal.

By the way, all the people saying that they are going to leave AT&T because of this, I will just laugh when Verizon introduces the same thing. Trust me, it won’t take long.

As far as the 2GB with regards to the iPad, I am a little worried there. Most of my iPad surfing is at home, though if I decide to stream music and such while on travel, I can see that being used up. I’m torn as to whether to just keep my unlimited 3G plan and not cancel so I will be able to maintain it. Thoughts?

3 Responses to AT&T and Unlimited Data

  1. Murtaza says:

    I think this is incredibly dumb. The whole point of unlimited 3g is to be able to watch Netflix and future Hulu without having to worry about the 2gig limit. Otherwise I can do everything on my iphone.

    You also say that you would keep the unlimited 3g by not cancelling it, but the whole point of it was that I could pay as I go. This is unavailable for me if I were just going on a trip and want a single month activation.

    The iPad is a fun little gadget, but it seems the limited uses are getting even more limited.

    *This whole message was typed on an iPad

    • dperez82 says:

      Don’t get me wrong, I agree with you, but based on what I have been reading the past year, it was inevitable. I suppose I am in a situation where keeping the 3G active at all times is worth it due to travel.

      You can always jailbreak the ipad and circumvent the whole AT&T thing entirely.

  2. Jessica says:

    I say keep it… $5 is less than the cost of a Chipotle burrito… If you really want, you could eat one less a month and still come out winning 🙂 Although I don’t forsee you eating any less Chipotle any time soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

