How Jessica and I Met

Ok, the long awaited post!  Ever since I mentioned in my first post that I would tell the story about how Jessica and I met, a couple of people have asked me when is it coming.  So here you go 🙂

Jess and I at Governor's Island

Jess and I at Governor's Island

Initial Setup

Back near the end of 2008, I had been wanting to get on an online dating site to meet someone.  I was extremely busy with work at the time with traveling to very exotic places (i.e. Kentucky and Arkansas), but when Christmas break arrived, I decided to sit down and write a profile.  My brother Eddie had met his current wife Patricia met online at Match.com.  Inspired, (and they also nagged on me to get on a dating site :P) I wanted to follow a similar approach, but instead try a dating site specifically for Christians.  After doing some web research, I chose Christian Cafe, and filling out the profile (which took like a week to think of good answers!), I posted it sometime near the end of February/early March.

First Contact

Actually, this category goes to Jessica. 🙂  Waayyy back on April 8, 2009, she made the first move and sent me an e-mail through the site.  I unfortunately was busy with work and church with final practices for Easter, that I didn’t see the e-mail until 5 days later.  I know, I know, that was bad on my part, but she fortunately still replied to my apologetic, if late, reply.  Whew 🙂

We then spent the next two weeks reading and writing some of the longest e-mails ever.  We talked about lots of things (where are we from, family, work, church, etc.).  After that, transition to the reliable instant messanger, then finally phone and me asking her out on a first date.  She told me afterwards I should have asked sooner. 🙂

First Date and Beyond

I recommended that our first date be somewhere central and near where Jess works, so on Sunday, May 3rd, we went out to Friday’s for lunch after church.  We had only talked on the phone briefly prior to meeting up 1-2 times, so it was actually pretty exciting to finally meet up in person.  In retrospect, it seemed like it took much longer to finally meet in person, but in reality we had been talking only for a little over 2 weeks.

The date itself went very well.  We hit it off quickly, and spent over 4 hours (!) at talking about a myriad of topics.  We then followed it up next week with going to Times Square, walking around the city, and watching Star Trek, and our 3rd date was at Six Flags to see tobyMac in concert, where we had our first kiss (insert awww moment here). 😀

Today

Tomorrow (10/22) will actually be our 3month anniversary since we started going out.  It has gone fast, and I’ve enjoyed every minute of it.  🙂 She is sweet, caring, thoughtful, and pretty much awesome.

So that is the story of how we met!  Nothing too crazy, just a good wholesome story. 🙂

10 Responses to How Jessica and I Met

  1. Now that is an awesome story. God bless you two!!!

  2. setapart82 says:

    This blog is Jessica approved! I must admit that my favorite part is the “pretty much awesome” line. And I’ve also enjoyed every minute of it too 😉

  3. Kim says:

    Oh how cute! I didn’t know your brother met his wife online. This story is really sweet! I wish you both the best! I am so excited for you both! Keep the stories coming up…I love happy couple stories!

  4. Grisel says:

    This is a wonderful story. You both make a beautiful couple. I’m so glad you found eachother. God bless you both.

  5. tia Amy says:

    Hola mi querido sobrino Dani:

    Así que me tengo que enterar de todas estas buenas noticias mirando Face-book?
    Espero me cuentes algo cuando te vea…..OK? Te quiero mucho y espero si es para felicidad de ustedes y ambas familias que Dios derrame su bendición sobre esta relación.

  6. Maria says:

    This is a great story 😉 And I’m happy to say that Eddie and I got to share some of your “3rd date” with you guys when we saw you at Six Flags… LOL…. all the best…. 🙂

  7. setapart82 says:

    I might have already submitted this, Danny boy – so please ignore the 1st response to Maria’s comment 🙂 But, Maria, I was so glad that I had told you about Dan a few days before – imagine how WEIRD that would have been if u would have seen me with some random dude 🙂 haha…

  8. Mayra says:

    After hearing so many things about you Dan, I also give you the stamp of approval! I have to agree, Jessica is pretty much awesome and beautiful might I add. I couldn’t have asked for a better friend and titi… We all love her down here in Texas so please treat her as the Queen that she is.

    Hope to someday meet you **I’ll be in Philly in January**.

    – Mayra & Ian

  9. Edward says:

    Sweet! I am looking forward to meeting Jess.

Leave a Reply

